Sign in to follow this  

What is a decent but cost conscious, micrometer and telescoping gauge manufacturer?

I am looking to measure the cylinders on my bikes. I don’t think I need to spend big bucks, and I know you get what you pay for, but I would like to get good readings for my engine cylinders. Any Ideas? I am certain that a machinist would point to the high dollar brands but is this really necessary for the occasional measurement?

I'm partial to my Starrett micrometers & telescoping gages. But I'm a machinist, & use them daily...... :busted:

That said, you could probably get an "*OK/accurate enough*" measurement with something from, say, Enco...... then have a machinist buddy double check it for ya.....

Jimmie

I use cheap digital calipers for most things (and they are surprisingly accurate when checked against my certified Starretts) but when you need real precision such as cylinder bores you will never regret the purchase of Starrett micrometers. My preference, and the cheapest, is outside mics and telescoping gauges.

Starrett is the best. I inherited a full set of antique micrometers from my grandfather and they still work like new. I also bought a Starrett Dial Caliper at a pawn shop for $20. I use it at least a few times a week and would be at a loss without it.

I don't have much experience with them personally, but I know that Fowler and Spi used to be two of the higher quality imports.

They are definitely not the quality of a Starrett, Mitutoyo, or Brown & Sharpe, but they are also not the price.

Personally, I think the quality of the big 3 has been dropping over the last 10 years or so :busted:

I am looking to measure the cylinders on my bikes. I don’t think I need to spend big bucks, and I know you get what you pay for, but I would like to get good readings for my engine cylinders. Any Ideas? I am certain that a machinist would point to the high dollar brands but is this really necessary for the occasional measurement?[/quote