Sign in to follow this  

250f vs 450f

age old struggle. please tell me pros to going to a 450 most of us could never use its full power so why go up to the 450? im really contemplating getting the new kawi 450. I just came off yz250 and got the 09 kx270f and i feel like i want more. im new to 4 strokes as of a few months and starting my 09 hot is hell will the 450 be just as bad if not worse as im not a big guy at a 135lbs

After break in my 450 is easy to start hot or cold. Before it was broke in tryin to start it hot was a major PITA. If you feel like you want more then why not get a 450?

yep 1/2 throttle howd ya know..... that why my 250 2st is always wound out cuz i cant handle 18~ hp im getting at 1/2 throttle of the 270f.... yep....

Anyway back to reality i just wanna make sure im making the right leap. ive ridden my buddys sxf 350 and it feels very very minimally diffrent in power than my modded 270 so i was thinking to jumping up to the 450. why does everone else jump up too the 450?

You answered your own question when you said "I feel like I want more". You went from a 250t to a 250f. That seems like the problem.

well actually i said "i feel" witch means i think... but i just dont want to hop on the 450 and feel like i have too much unusable power ya know?

Coming off a 250 smoker myself.... it was hard to adjust to the 250fs "lack" of power. But if you really ride those 250fs you can ride them pretty damn fast. The 450 to me is just a little too much. Its not like uncontrollable, just a little unnecessary. Its a lot of fun having all that torque though.

450 is a fad. I have had a few of them, I'm also a lightweight at 145lbs. The 250 2t Is a much better bike for me.. I don't miss the big bore thumper... (Well sometimes I do)

Also depends on what kind of riding you do,

On the track the 450 is king if you can hang on long enough.

On trails I enjoy Being able to flick around the 250, and I can ride it forever compared to the 450!