Sign in to follow this  

For Mini Motard on a CRF150f are CRF150R forks that much better than CR85?

I've been roadracing since 2005, this past year was my first year endurance racing on a CRF150F motard on a go-cart track and I really like it. I'm limited on engine mods for the class but I wanted to upgrade my shock and front end. I'm in the market to buy as soon as I find something in the classifieds or on ebay. My question is are the 150r forks much better than the CR85 forks? I heard the internals are much better from someone who had them but wanted to hear it from a less partial judge. Also if any of you know of anyone looking to unload of either let me know.

Thanks

Z

Edited by Z_monster

I dunno-- I think they are very similar actually. I had Adam at Settin' Trendz on the phone about something else, and we were discussing a 150R/150F conversion (engine). He told me that no matter what he does to the 150R front end-- he doesn't like the way it feels. I've ridden both, and I didn't notice anything wrong with the 150R front.

If I were you, I'd get the CR85 front revalved or whatever before I'd get a 150R frnt. The 150r front axle is thicker than the 85 axle, so you'd have to re lace your front wheel to a 150R front hub.

My own experience (I race with OMRL when I can) tells me that there isn't much of a difference other than spring rate and valving. Look on both parts breakdowns and compare the pics. They look pretty much the same. On that bike-- the rear shock is the weak link. I have a Hlebo revalve on mine, and it performs alot better. It actually made the front end seem to work better somehow. --L*64