Sign in to follow this  

Aftermarket kickstands

Curious what experiences you guys have had with aftermarket kickstands. So far I have found...

MSR

Ricochet

Trail Tech

Moose

Pro Moto Billet

I have no experience with any of these but have read quite a few negative reviews of the Trail Tech kickstand but haven't heard anything on the others. I'm in the market for one as trying to prop your bike up on a Saguaro is no fun!

I run the promoto Billet Kick It. I like the wide foot b/c it doesn't sink in soft terrain, it tucks up high/tight, there's no external spring to lose and the anodized black looks good on my KTM. I've MX'd w/ it and it doesn't come down on hard landings. On the pricey side, but it's a nice piece.

Pro Moto Billet....Just dont sit on or try to start the bike with it down.....but who does that?

How come? I'm an inseam challenged individual :busted: and normally start my KDX250 while on the kickstand.

How come? I'm an inseam challenged individual :busted: and normally start my KDX250 while on the kickstand.

Well apparently some have cracked theirs from using it to start the bike repeatedly. I swear I remember them warning not to do this in the instructions but I am not sure. May want to look into something else if you plan to do this.

As others have said, PMB is the way to go. I have one on my YZ250. The fit is dead on and it is excellent quality. A few drops of bicycle chain lube in the pivot area are all the maintenance it really needs.

PMB here too. I've started mine once or twice while on the stand. It's pretty rare, and it's held up great.

Pro Moto FTW, just bought my second one. All aluminum with a big pad, internal retention spring, mounts to stock holes (not a clamp-on), tucks away nicely and doesn't drop on jump landings, etc. They are nice units and well worth the money.

I run PMB kickstands on all of my bikes. They are like $30 more than the others, but IMO they are designed better as well as look better.