Sign in to follow this  

DR650 BST40 Carb Needle / Air Filter Mods

Hi to all on here. I'm a newbie 1999 DR650 owner. I bought the bike a couple of months ago and it was bog standard. I rode it home put it in the garage and started cutting massive big hole in the top of air filter box... I did this mod on my DR350 and bored it out to 441 and got good results.

I made a new rear section exhaust with can. Got rid of vacuum tap and all associated junk. Drilled out main jet to 1.6mm aprox a 160. Put needle in my lathe and put some more grooves in for adjustment. Lifted the needle about 1.5 mm. Went out to try it out and it was totally gutless. Did lots of messing about with the needle height and the result was still totally gutless.

So I found some info on this forum from mxrob which helped. I took his measurements of the Dynojet needle and worked out the angles and turned my needle as close as i could to match the dj dimensions. Result was it was a lot better, but far from perfect.

To cut a very long story shortish I have machined the ''D Step'' away in the slide as it was getting on my nerves. Got an old Z1000 needle which is much shorter and just stuck it in an electric drill and filed the profile freehand. Went out to try it out and it was awesum and nearly perfect.

So the moral of this story is that the stock needle is no good what so ever with air box top cut out mods, and just about any 3mm needle with a sharper angle on will be an improvement, as long as the straight section is just inside needle jet at idle and needle doesn't come completely out of needle jet at full throttle. I think when throttle is closed stock needle is slightly on the taper at the top of the needle jet which is probably responsible for bog of idle.

1) I now have 4.5mm less preload on the spring, as no D Step and no washers underneath the clip.

2) The straight section of the needle is just sat inside the needle jet with throttle closed.