Sign in to follow this  

New 250 SX Owner

I've been on yamahas for my entire weekend warrior career, but now i've decided to go orange. this bike was almost impossible to find i'm surprised i even got one. i called some dealers and they had a waiting list until 2013.

Do these bikes have any known issues? I'm hoping to keep this thing for a long time and i'm pretty anal about maintenance. ( air filter, oil changes, greasing bearings etc)

ktm005.jpg

ktm004.jpg

I have about 9 hr on mine so far the only thing that went bad here was the right front fork seal.

I have been riding for over 20+ years and never had a seal go on me.

But I love the bike great power and fun to ride I got rid of my 2011 crf 450r or this bike and am glad I did.

I took the bike in last week to get new springs for it I run about 205lbs and that was a needed fix for me.

When I got it I took it all down and did a grease job to it and just a once over to make sure all was good.

Good luck with you new ride.

just make dang well sure you seat the air filter properly every time you install it.

this 08 is much more difficult than my 05 was. PITA!

just make dang well sure you seat the air filter properly every time you install it.

this 08 is much more difficult than my 05 was. PITA!

yea that air filter is pretty tricky, it took me a couple tries to get it seated properly

same issue

my 2010 150sx filter is bit more tricky than my 06 450sx...

just use your fingers to go around it, make sure is seated properly.

Nothing to worry about in particular, but do check tightness of various fasteners. Every bike seems to have certain different things come loose. Also, since you are new to KTM, make sure you explore the PV adjustments. It is an awesome feature if you ride under different conditions.

I also sold my CRF450 and got a rare 2011 SX250. I need to have the suspension resprung for my light weight, but I LOVE the power!