Sign in to follow this  

00 cr250 jetting in wa state. Help Please!!

so im new to carb tuning and my new bike i bought (00 cr250) came with a 172 main and 48 pilot. i know the stock ratio is 180 main and 48 pilot. I have a fmf gnarly to fmf shorty with carbon reeds an newish piston. The previous owner ran 50:1 and it seems way high i want to be at or around 40:1 just for peice of mind. Gonna do tear down later this year to see her in sides which i will keep posted also working on 10 acre track too so alot goin on.:bonk:

So i went to bbrp a local shop an bought some main jets got a 178 and 180. Using stock needle. set it all back to stock but wonder what main jet i should run to compensate for add on's.... Should the stock needle be ok or should i get the optional needle. dnt really wanna spend 80 bucks on jd kit when it runs good now just want smoother power. Also seems to run like its gonna blow when i pull the choke with old jetting dnt get what that is all about, cant use the choke cause im worried its gonna blow.:busted:

Question: Any one with the same setup with input? Should i run stock jetting or should i go lean or richer? Im practically at sea level and its around 45ish degrees. Prolly not the best time to start jetting bike cause its freezing but i got time and could use the knowlege. also if someone has dirt moving machinery and wanna help on a private track pm me would love the help!!:busted::lol:

also have needle with clip on third groove from the top, was on 2nd from top.

2000CR250Jetting.jpg

this correction chart is a good one. it assumes that your perfect jetting is 48p, needle on 2, and 172m. this is at 0' elevation and 70*F. i jetted my bike before finding this chart and when i found it, i thought it was funny that i landed on the same jetting. i agree on the jetting on all except for the pilot, but thats a tiny issue.

i use stock reeds however. if you are at 40*F then the stock jetting with 1 main reduction should suffice.