Sign in to follow this  

Provective gear help for a new guy

Whats up everyone. I'm going to get into trail riding next season and need to get some protective gear. I have zero off road experience and know nothing about off road gear. So what do I need to get and whats a good brand? I'm guessing a leather once piece is a little to much.

Thanks

You might consider one of the package deals some suppliers offer (see below). One of my friends bought the one below, it's pretty entry level stuff, but it served him well for the first year or so.

If you have more to spend and know your gonna like the sport, then buy higher quality gear. About the only thing I wouldn't consider mandatory in that kit is the jersey and bag. And yes, I'd skip the one peice leather suit!

http://www.chaparral-racing.com/Product/ocelot-super-package-deal/PKG-OCELOT-SUPER10.aspx

the more gear you wear the less you will hurt!

I wear boots, knee pads, mx pants, padded shorts, kidney belt, jersey, chest protector, elbow pads, helmet, goggles, gloves...

you can get the cheap package deal above which is a great deal and will do you fine,but remember it is cheaper for a reason and there is better stuff out there that will be lighter, last longer, better fitting, look better.... my buddy bought that package and it lasted him about a year. but if you have the cash and want to spend it you can piece together the same package with the gear you want and get higher quality stuff but that can add up real quick...all really depends on how much $$ you have to spend and how much you will be riding...

I wear boots, knee pads, mx pants, padded shorts, kidney belt, jersey, chest protector, elbow pads, helmet, goggles, gloves...

:busted: I wear the same.... cheap insurance.