almost had my bike stolen today

im studying this semester in europe and i left my bike with my friend to look after for a few months till i come back to lebanon in january. i thought it would be safe just outside his door in a shared underground parking lot. i had it locked with two chain locks, locked the steering, and had an alarm. as my friend comes home earlier today he sees a guy riding it out of the garage then turns around and chases him while another guy runs, holding my chains... for some reason they thought it was important to take the chains too? my friend catches up to them and the guy on my bike falls over and runs away. my friend chased them on foot for a little while but gave up. here are the pics he took. they ripped off my headlight in order, apparently, to hot wire it. i just this second noticed the license plate is gone too... im so ****ing mad. but also reminding myself i should be thankful my friend got home just in time to stop this horrendous travesty. i wish i could get on a plane home and take care of this matter immediately, its so unsettling, so frustrating.

photo1ler.jpg

photo2au.jpg

Thank god for dumb luck buddy, thank god for good friends! Glad you recovered your bike. If you still need to use chain to lock it make sure to get HARDENED chain next time. And a Krytonite type lock. If some tries to use bolt cutters on hardened chain it'll snap the cutter blades! HA!