Sign in to follow this  

Noob questions

Hi. I'm new to dirt riding. I bought a XR200R for national forest trails. The bike comes with aftermarket handlebars and hand guards...Renthal. Does the presence of aftermarket bar means the bike was probably wrecked? If not, why would someone replace the stock one? Is there something bad about stock? The handguard is metal. I'm thinking about tossing it for weight reduction. The bike feels very heavy in the sand and tight trail. I was going to put a metal rack in the back to carry tools and stuff, but I ditched that idea pretty quick. I don't want to add anymore weight. I was pretty excited when I bought this bike. I'm wondering now if I should have gotten a KX100 instead. My other hobby is mountain bike. I'm used to much, much lighter ride. But I'm familiar with riding tough techical trails.

I'll be brief;

1) Aftermarket aluminum handlebars are an aftermarket upgrade. Consider it a good thing.

2) Keep the aluminum handguards. If you drop the bike, it will protect your hand controls. Broken brake/clutch on the trail can make a miserable ride back to civilization.

3) The XR200R is considered a light bike, so an aluminum rack on the back are pretty nice to have. XRsonly I believe still make a rack for the XR.

4) If your trail riding, the XR is hands down a better bike than the KX100 IMO.

Good luck,

KDXIdaho

I assume the stock handlebar is steel. Right? So, aftermarket aluminum is lighter, Right? So, stock is stronger but heavier, and aluminum is lighter but weaker. Right?

Actually the Renthals are worlds better than the stock steelies in strength and weight. They are more robust, high grade aluminum, and difficult to tweak. You can bend steel handlebars by looking at them funny. Don't worry, you won't have to upgrade your handlebars.

Not necessarily factory bars are cheap mild steel and bend easily at the cross brace.