Sign in to follow this  

Trailer wiring 101

Hey all... i've been enjoying reading a lot of the trailer modifications and am anxious to convert my 7x14 box trailer into having more living amenities. but as i look at the empty box the first thing i need to do is wiring...

is there a resource or post on here that would take me step by step on what is needed? i've seen junction boxes, inverters, etc... but don't know what is needed to have a safe electrical system in my trailer.

I want to run off batteries but also have the ability to plug in a generator as needed to run tools pluged into outlets and recharge batteries. no a/c or electric heater. trailer already came with 2 dome lights and 1 12v battery.

sorry if this has been asked b4... i searched but didnt see what i was looking for.

I'm pretty new to the idea myself but I just bought a little pop up camper last week. As I'm learning about these things I have found out kinda how some of it works....

Sounds like what you need is a "Converter" as a starting point...

It allows you to run your lights off of 12V, Then when plugged in to 110V or your generator it will convert the power to 12v for your lights and also power 110 outlets in the trailer and charge your battery.

About $200 for a converter with 30 amp 110 capacity.

Hey all... i've been enjoying reading a lot of the trailer modifications and am anxious to convert my 7x14 box trailer into having more living amenities. but as i look at the empty box the first thing i need to do is wiring...

is there a resource or post on here that would take me step by step on what is needed? i've seen junction boxes, inverters, etc... but don't know what is needed to have a safe electrical system in my trailer.

I want to run off batteries but also have the ability to plug in a generator as needed to run tools pluged into outlets and recharge batteries. no a/c or electric heater. trailer already came with 2 dome lights and 1 12v battery.