Sign in to follow this  

Saved this old CR from a barn last night!

New member here!

I picked up an old Honda CR dirtbike last night for a very good price... According to the previous owner it has been sitting for about a year, Bike was covered in all sorts of junk and I felt like I was on American Pickers when I dragged this poor old Honda out! To my surprize with some fresh gas/mix poured directly into the intake she fired right up!

I need help figuring what year this bike is... It's a CR80, The previous owner said it's a 1980s and that the top end was rebuilt last year with weisco piston and all the goodies (of course I can't confirm any of this since I haven't ripped it apart) But it sounded good when it started up so I bought it... Honestly I would have bought it even if it didn't start up because I felt bad for the poor bike! I've had several ATVs so I'm somewhat mechanical with the basics of the 2-stroke but I'm new to dirt bikes and Honda's in general.

He also mentioned that when the top end was rebuilt they didn't mill the head surfaces and when the bike gets hot it leaks coolant out of the upper seal of the jug. What can I do to correctly seal this enough to safely run the bike (for tune up reasons) until I can get the head into the shop? I'd like to run the bike and also get in some compression test and such before breaking the engine down if needed.

Thanks for any help and sorry for the long post!

-Mike

Here are some pics of the bike... I realize these cr80s have been made for decades and may be hard to date by a pic but even a ballpark range of age is fine if possible.

cr802.jpg

cr801.jpg

cr80.jpg