Sign in to follow this  

22mm triple clamps

Some say yes, I say no.

22mm clamps gives it more high speed stability.

22mm clamps gives it more high speed stability.

That is opposite to everything I have heard. 22mm should make it turn better, but sacrifice a little high speed stability. I ran 22's on my 09 and I didn't notice a drastic difference and went back to stock. But I am a 37 year old vet rider, so maybe my sensitivity is dulled:ride:

That is opposite to everything I have heard. 22mm should make it turn better, but sacrifice a little high speed stability.

You heard wrong.

i have always understood the 22mm or 20mm would help turning and sacrifice high speed stability as well, versus say 24mm or 25 mm...?even spoke to a friend that has an 09 that put on 22 mm clamps and was able to get the bike to turn better versus stock....he frequents this site and hopefully will chime in on the subject.

You heard wrong.

I know you know about these bikes, and I am not sure what they report overseas, but EVERY manufacturer and every magazine tests in America says that the 22mm offset on the KX250F is for quicker turning. It is geometry and physics that is beyond my college education, but you can't get quicker turning and gain stability. The Kawasaki teams always changed to 22 or even 20 to offer better turning. Less offset of the triple clamps brings the front wheel in, making for quicker turning. More triple clamp offset pushes the forks out and makes it more stable. The offset of the forks, has an effect on the trail.

A few things I found: From MXA

1. A solution to the handling problem is to invest in 22mm offset aftermarket triple clamps. The handling becomes more precise and the front-end feels more planted, thanks to the increased trail.