Sign in to follow this  

looking at a new 390??

Hey guys, I have been racing my trusty ole WR270 for two years now and it's time fore a new bike. Been thinking of the 390 for a new fourstroke or a 300 if I decide on a two stroke.

I've been reading a lot about overheating issues with the 4st and wanted to see if there's been anything done on the newer bikes to remedy that problem.

Can you guys give me some concerns and suggestions I should steer away from or look for?

thanks!:lol:

I've read a little about some FE390 gas tanks needing flush/ rinse out before using. Something about inside of tank being coated with some chemical during manufacturing that causes your fuel injector to get plugged up. (?) - They may have already resolved, but make sure to quiz your dealer.

I was looking at the same bike to replace my WRF (290). There is a whole "new" FE being released in June '12. I decided to wait until then.

My FE450 has only overheated when my injector was partially clogged, causing it to run lean. They do run hot, but they shouldn't overheat. The engine design is high up, so the engine heats up the fuel in the tank.

Most people put reflective heat tape on the bottom of the tank and the fan kit is a must. Some people also wrap the exhaust mid pipe.

The main issues have been related to the fuel pump and clogged injectors. I am not sure what the white gunk is that is in some tanks. Mine had it. Some think it is a mold release of some kind. Another theory is that it is Ethanol deposits. Either way, Ethanol can cause grief. It has a short shelf life. So I use fuel with an injector cleaner in it (ie, Chevron or Texaco) and I use stabilizer when my bike sits for more than 4 weeks or so.

As long as your keep your fuel clean, the fuel injection is awesome.

There were a number of bikes that have had the fuel pump fail. A replacement is covered under warranty.

I picked up a new '11' 390 yesterday that I plan to use as a trail hopper.