Sign in to follow this  

08 KLR650 fairing and mirror question

Hi all,

I just recently got an 08 KLR650 (candy lime green) and I was riding when I dropped the bike back on a muddy road and put three substantial cracks in the right lower fairing (silver). I have been looking for a place to buy a new one but I have been unsuccesful through google searches. I have seen other forums say they cost 120, but where do I go to purchase them? Also, I need to buy another mirror as it was damaged when dropping the bike as well.

In the future, I plan on buying crash bars. Thanks in advance for any responses. I am very new to riding and working on bikes but I'm looking forward to doing more of it.

Hi all,

I just recently got an 08 KLR650 (candy lime green) and I was riding when I dropped the bike back on a muddy road and put three substantial cracks in the right lower fairing (silver). I have been looking for a place to buy a new one but I have been unsuccesful through google searches. I have seen other forums say they cost 120, but where do I go to purchase them? Also, I need to buy another mirror as it was damaged when dropping the bike as well.

In the future, I plan on buying crash bars. Thanks in advance for any responses. I am very new to riding and working on bikes but I'm looking forward to doing more of it.

You could probably get it from the OEM catalog right here on the thumpertalk parts store, but the page keeps crashing when I try to select cowlings.

bikebandit.com has it, they cost a bit more. Once again, search for OEM parts.

My advice would be not to replace it right away. Like you said, you're a new rider. This won't be the first time you'll drop it. How many times are you going to replace your body work?

Take the fairing off and fiberglass it on the inside to hold it together, then reinstall it.