Sign in to follow this  

Keep loosing masterlink clip

I have lost three masterlink clips now. Its getting old!

Is there any way that I can fix it in location, IE- devcon or resin it to secure it in place? I am not looking to lock it, but to provide a duplicate safety mechanism.

FYI- I am an aircraft mechanic and a mechanical engineer, so I know how to install them.

I have checked tracking, NDN

Everything mechanically looks good

I ride 110 miles of freeway everyday and do about 50 miles in the desert every weekend and the clips last no longer than 2 weeks max before I loose them.

are you putting the open end of the master link facing the rear of the bike? ( master link on top)

you want the closed end going forward.

Kenny

Get a rivet link and use that. No more worries....ever.

Properly installed three piece spring clip master link is as good as any riveted chain master.. Easier to remove and clean, service the wheel, sprockets, swing arm, and the masters are cheap to replace so just toss a new one on every 10,000 miles or a few R&R's and your good on the minimal wear they take.

Most of the time three piece master link failure is due to incorrect install:

Did you spread the clip to install? or place it on top of the link pins and snap (slide)in to place? many folks incorrectly seat one "leg" of the clip on eh side of the pins then lever the other "leg" over the pins. this just ruins the clip, and makes it prone to come off.

With the master installed, and on top of the swing arm.. was the closed end of the clip facing the front of the bike? It needs to be so the clip is "pushed" in to place as it rotates around the CS sprocket, and through the chain guide.

I have lost three masterlink clips now. Its getting old!

Is there any way that I can fix it in location, IE- devcon or resin it to secure it in place? I am not looking to lock it, but to provide a duplicate safety mechanism.