Sign in to follow this  

cr250 cylinder options

hey guys as you might know i need a new cylinder for my 01 cr250

what are some other options as the 01 is on back order and i want a NEW oem cylinder, and piston

will all 92-01 cylinders work with the 01 exhaust valve/ head

can i run the flat top piton and 01 head on 92-96 cylinders?

what is the best year for off road racing. i have heard mixed reviews of the 99

is the 01 really the best over all ?

everything is interchangable as long as you run the proper head with the proper piston.

if you choose to run the domed piston, youll need a matching head.

if you choose to run the flat top piston, youll need a matching head.

the cylinder itself does not matter.

i dont want to start anything too crazy, since i have no experience with any cr250's outside of the 00 and 01, but i seriously cant remember how many times ive seen the 96 porting referenced to as the best all around porting. could just be internet regurgitation, but its enough for me to take notice.

id go with a 96 for woods/best all around.

they may not have the best over rev, but they pull hard from the bottom. and keep on pulling had in the mid. it drops off a bit at the top end, but who cares!! grab another gear!

The 99 porting is great for woods riding because it has more low-mid power. It's also the cheapest of the bunch at $280 through cycle central powersports.

The 99 porting is great for woods riding because it has more low-mid power. It's also the cheapest of the bunch at $280 through cycle central powersports.

They got good prices but damn, takes a while. Three weeks here for OEM reeds and water pump seals. They said the order was "huge" which sort of slowed it down they claim. :lol:

Just be prepared to wait it out.

well after talking to U.S chrome and Ken oconnor racing im sending in my cylinder to get checked for warranty, scott even said " it dosen't happen often but welds let go, if it did we will fix it "