Sign in to follow this  

Is this supposed to be in my fork? Trying to un-lower a Husqvarna/Marzocchi

I picked up a Husqvarna (02 570TE with the stock inverted Marzocchi) a few weeks ago and it turns out the suspension has been lowered. I'm trying to put it back to stock, but having never torn into these forks before I'm not sure if the sleeve pictured is normal or if it is what someone used to lower the suspension... My parts manual has a very crappy illustration of the rod and I don't really see this piece on the breakdown.

Is this sleeve supposed to be on the damping rod? If not am I good to go without it?

DSC02818.jpg

Everything else looks normal/stock however this sleeve is the only thing I can see that would limit travel. Thanks for any help,

Andrew

I recently revalved a 45mm Marzocchi from a Gas Gas and it did not have that spacer on the damper rod. Sorry I can't be more specific - that's all I know.

I am far from a suspension expert , but i would highly doubt the factory would epoxy anything to the rod , and it does not have the same coating that the rod has , also a dead giveaway , so i doubt it is stock

any roughness on the rod will destroy the rod seal

thats looks like the limiting spacer, but remember you will probably have to lengthen the fork springs a similar a mount.

:lol:

any roughness on the rod will destroy the rod seal

:)

If the forks were lowered by that amount, they would have to have shorter springs. You'll have to find a set of stock length springs.

That spacer is not stock for the Marz fork...at least for the 45's.

Was that free floating on the cart rod ?

Noticed that you might have a check plate in place of the mid valve, "if so" I'd change it back, it allows the fork to dive to quickly and deep into the stroke...which the effects are a harsh ride.