Sign in to follow this  

Front brake is terrible...

Does anyone else think the front brake on the 450x is almost inadequate?

I am new to the X, but compared to what I have had in the past it is very short on stopping power.

What is everyone else doing to get the braking power up? Galfer pads, rotor? or are you just skipping straight to an oversize kit?

Get a newer r front brake master cylinder. Larger improvements than a oversived rotor and ss brake line. I have all 3.

Galfer wave rotor and pads along with a braided line make a huge difference!

Just curious. What are the riding conditions that demonstrate the poor braking capability? On an open track, or on the street? My 2005's brakes seem fine to me for trail riding. Seems like I loose traction between the tire and dirt before I hit the limit of the braking force.:lol:

Just curious. What are the riding conditions that demonstrate the poor braking capability? On an open track, or on the street? My 2005's brakes seem fine to me for trail riding. Seems like I loose traction between the tire and dirt before I hit the limit of the braking force.:lol:

I am riding trails here in southern CA. Places like Gorman, dove springs, etc.

It is not that the front brake will not stop the bike. My complaint is the effort required at the lever to get the stoping power.

It sounds like the brake system needs to be disassembled and cleaned. My 05 has a very easy brake pull, and yes, it is bled.

The X is a tank, and hard to stop. The stock X brakes are adequate, if everything is tuned up: braided lines, oem pads, bleed, etc.

It also sounds like your pads and rotor are contaminated.

I second that. It does not take much oil/fluid/chemical to ruin the pads.

Ever blow the left fork seal? That would by my first thing to rule out.

450X felt like a 250 2T after getting off an XR650R