Sign in to follow this  

Racing a 125 in the 250 class

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner to Mx, and I have been in only 2 races so far. I was racing against 250f's in my first race, and a kid on a 125 in my second. I want to race in the 250 4 stroke class because no one rides 125 2 strokes over in Northern California, and If I can win on a 125, I will be able to kick their butts when I get a 250 next year. 4 strokes are so much easier to ride, it almost seems like cheating, so I would just like any tips to beat these guys on their thumpers.

Please don't tell me "Theres no difference, it's just your skill" becaue I have been on a 4 stroke before:banghead:. They are totally different and don't take as much effort to ride. I'm a beginner, but I'm not stupid. Notice that all of the best riders today have been on a 2 stroke at some point in their career. 2 strokes just make you a better rider.

The thing about being quicker on a 4stroke, i think this applies to slower C riders, when you get up to high B's and A's I think the difference becomes much less and in general people prefer 4strokes because they are smoother and don't wear you out as fast.

(i've had 2 very similar bikes KTM sx150 and sxf250 same year and if i put the effort in i can put in almost identical lap times)

On the question about if you win this year would you beat them next year? well yes you should, your not goin to slow down by goin 4 stroke, but if you do win, then surely you should move up a class the year after?

practice, practice... hook up with a rider that is faster than you and try to develop your corner speed.

on the 2 stroke u will need to be much faster in the corners because the 250f will pull u down any straight.

The corners are where you will win or lose