Sign in to follow this  

Intechangeable components between XL185S and xr200r

Hello,

Thumper newbie here.

I recently got a project '81 XL185S in pretty bad shape. I keep finding more and more things that the previous owner seems to have "modified".

The rear brake pedal and rod were missing,

the sprocket was bolted to the hub (I understand that there is supposed to be a c-clip and some kind of cush drive),

the central rear wheel spacer had been replaced with one that was too big so that when I went to replace the destroyed bearings I may have damaged the new ones :lol:

etc...

Anyways, the point is, I have an opportunity to get a cheap '83 XR200R in pieces with a shot motor. I understand that the suspension on the XR is mono-shock and the XL is dual shock so I cant easily switch swingarms, but would the tire plug-and-play? any other bits to make it worth getting?

A lot of parts interchange but one with a bad wheel and one with a bad motor begs a question: What is your intended use of the combined bike? I think the answer will determine which way to go.

Differences from my memory:

The XL185S is most closely related to the XL200, and close to the XR200 (twin shock)

Suspension is much better on the XR.

Don't know if the wheels exchange, axles are the same size so the issue may be spacers. IMO the cush hub was a PITA so I can understand removing the rubber bushings.

The engines are of the same family of two valve motors based on the XL125S.

The XLs are five speed, the XRs are six speed.

Disregarding the displacement differences the XR is at a higher level of tune than the XL (more compression, more aggressive cam, bigger carb, etc).

Cylinders interchange and the 185 cylinder can be bore to 200cc.

Ignition advance is probably different

XL alternator will power street lights, XR only a 35watt headlite and small tail light.