Sign in to follow this  

Humbled 257x B1k Report

I'm still a Baja newb, this being my second Baja 1000, but thought some of you might be entertained by my story:

Last year I ran a 3 man team to La Paz and had a cake walk. Wanted more seat time, so decided to jump into the deep end and go for a solo attempt! The plan was to prerun with a buddy the entire course in 4 days, doing it entirely out of back pack, no chase support. I won't bore you with the last minute stresses getting bikes ready into the wee hours barely pulling it off. Being from Washington, the Saturday rain storm, the week before the race, was tolerable, but definitely not the conditions we hoped for! By the time we got to RM 200, my buddy's xr650L had beaten him pretty bad. We slabbed it to San Felipe where fear of the dreaded whoops forced us to skip the entire San Felipe loop. As the race would prove, It probably would have beat me down and forced me to not be able to even start. So we finished off the rest of the course and had a great time. Prerunning is almost as fun as the race! Some special, generous folks helped me by bringing my gal from San Diego Airport to Ensenada the day before the race, so I had some karma pay backs.