Sign in to follow this  

Gearing question

Im a newbie here but would 14/38 sprockets be good for a 06 sm mostly driven on the highway? How fast would it run?

15/41 is the stock gearing for DRZ400SM, which is the same as 14/38....

A 16T will fit but it is a close fit.....

Top speed depends on engine hp output...The more hp ,the taller the gearing your engine can support...

Stock gearing (15/41) IMHO is the best all around gearing for the DRZSM :lol:

+1 Debi but slapping on a 14 now and then sure is fun.

+1 Debi but slapping on a 14 now and then sure is fun.

As mentioned 15/41 is stock....If you go the 14/38 there will be no change to gearing ratio, all you will be achieving is reducing the chain to swing arm clearance and chain life....

And if you are going 14/41 you are making your bike's gearing less suitable for your mostly highway use... :lol:

Yep, 14/41= Hooligan wheelie machine.That's why I said it's fun to put on now and then:banana:

I am with Debi though...I think the stock 15/41 is best all around.For reference sake,What is the smallest rear sprocket size your bad azz motor will efficienty pull Craig?

As mentioned 15/41 is stock....If you go the 14/38 there will be no change to gearing ratio, all you will be achieving is reducing the chain to swing arm clearance and chain life....

And if you are going 14/41 you are making your bike's gearing less suitable for your mostly highway use... :cheers:

Very true :lol:

Yep, 14/41= Hooligan wheelie machine.That's why I said it's fun to put on now and then:banana:

I am with Debi though...I think the stock 15/41 is best all around.For reference sake,What is the smallest rear sprocket size your bad azz motor will efficienty pull Craig?

And track weapon :) My DRZ pulled so hard out of corners with this gearing (14/41) but I also had the 5mm stroker crank and other goodies :banghead:

,What is the smallest rear sprocket size your bad azz motor will efficienty pull Craig?