Sign in to follow this  

Where to Begin....

Im looking at buying my wife her first Bike, She is 5'7" and 130 tops. She is a complete novice at riding. We mostly ride trails as a family and she wants to join us. She has been puttin around the yard on my 6yr olds ttr 90 and has once taken my 11yr olds Kx 80 around a little. She never would stay in the power band but the over all size fo the Kx 80 was comforatable to her. I have tried to get her to ride my cr125 or kx 125 to no avail, and she wont even look in teh direction of my kx250:bonk:. Price isnt my main concern here, getting here a bike she can be comfortable on and not scared of is a priority, having something that will handle some pretty snotty trails is also. Any and all suggestions are welcome and appreciated

To keep simple and not scare her.... DRZ125L or TTR125L.

I am the same size as your wife and I started on a DRZ125L. Love the bike. I learned HOW to ride. I upgraded from there. Start small and manageble power. Then progress from there. Or if you want something a little bigger go for a TTR230. Bike has the magic button to. She would probably not have any issues with this bike either (other than little heavier).

Good Luck.

I didnt post what bikes I was considering on purpose. I didnt want anyone to just focus on what I mentioned. I get a little tunnel vision when looking at stuff and get stuck on one thing. But so far my top 2 bikes I considered have been suggested. Problem is I have never rode either and dont know how they feel. I have been looking at the CRf 150 and the ttr 125 both. just have to get out and test ride a couple. I am open to any other suggestions and wont be purchasing anything for about 2 weeks still. I am planning on surpising her with this for Christmas...

Go with the ttr125, the crf150 is a lot heavier we have both, and the wife rides the ttr only and loves the magic start button.