Sign in to follow this  

Newbie here, just bought a 650R

Hi guys,

After much research (okay, not that much!) I decided to finally bite the bullet and get myself an XR650R. It's a 2000 model with 10,300 miles on the clock. I paid £1500 which I feel is a steal! It has a full exhaust system on it, but not one I have heard of. Maybe you guys have? It's a Pro Circuit T4. Here's a pic of the bike:

389777_10150407991748457_508058456_8658357_88213496_n.jpg

I plan on using it mostly on the road but will certainly give off roading a go.

My first question: While the bike is in relatively decent shape, what should I check over? I'd like to clean it up a bit when I pick it up next Saturday and make sure it's in tip top shape. It's just had new brake pads, rear discs and a speedo drive cable.

In regards to supermoto'ing it. What road wheels will fit it? What will I need to do to get them on? I know DRZ400's use Excel wheels which look quite nice, I wouldn't mind a set of those. They are easy enough to come by here, I'm assuming they won't fit the 650R? Assuming I don't take that route are any of the Michelin/Pirelli/Dunlop tyres which do mostly road but a small amount of dirt any good? I would rather get the SM wheels and some nice sticky Pirellis.

Fitting indicators, hard? All it's missing are the actual indicators and the switch on the left hand side (it's got the slot for it). And mirrors, are there a place to fit them? I forgot to look and I assume they have them, if so what size fits? I've also seen things you can wire a key into the kill switch, worth doing? Hard? Where could I buy one if I decide to take that route?

I've also read that K&N filters are not that good, it has one, do I swap it for a stock filter or twin air filter? Or should I keep it till the next service? It's not really dusty around where I live.