Sign in to follow this  

Basic skills to practice?

Ok so I have a trials bike in decent condition. I have a few years experience in offroad and mx. I enjoy tight technical trails.

What skills should I work on? What drills can I do?

Is there a list of drills somewhere? Just watching videos doesn't explain what I should be doing...

Any help would be appreciated.

I'm taking the bike out Friday for a few hours ...

Get the Ryan Young training video, it's excellent. cheers

I second this suggestion. Ryan is very good at breaking down the details about what he's doing. You may not be able to do it, but you'll at least understand it.

http://www.rypusa.com/

it will take me about 5 years to get past the first 3 skills Ryan goes over in the basic video.. man does he make it look easy.

Absolutey everything in trials is easier if you have good balance so practising that is a great place to start. Not necessarily engine off balancing in the garage (although that works) but just riding around and stopping often ... facing uphill, downhill, in a corner, anywhere. As your balance gets better, you will be able to stop for longer and then move on to another area. Then when you start going over obstacles, you will find that the balance practice you have done makes it a lot easier.

I taught myself right from the start to ride with a finger on the cltch ... so much so that I can't ride without it there now. Is an excellent safety valve - if things get out of hand, pull in the clutch.

Ryan's video is great, have learnt lots from that.

Most of all, have fun.

Andrew