Sign in to follow this  

Submerged my 2003 yz250f in water

Hi,

I need some guidance I am new to the dirt bike world and bought a 2003 yz250f two years ago. I did a complete top end rebuild last summer on the bike before i went away to Hatfield Mccoy trails for a week. While I was there i submerged my entire bike in a puddle miles in the woods. I kicked started the hell out of it till i finally got it running after 1 hour, then tried riding it back to the cabin it was smoking really bad out of the exhaust which it had never done before.. so i am assuming i burned the rings and water was getting into the motor through my piston. Thats not the bad thing though.. before i got back i burned through all my oil and the bike shut off and started making a clicking noise and now all it does is click when you go to kick it, however there still is a good deal of compression.

I am going to want to rid it all apart and replace the rings/ possibly the piston, drain the oil and change the filter a bunch and make sure there is no more water. Does anyone know what that clicking noise is?

I am not sure about the noise but I have submerged my bike twice. 1st time wasnt bad but it wouldnt start. 2nd time I felel in like 3 feet of water on the trails. I did not try to start the bike at all. I took it home and took it all apart. Ordered a new top end with a new cam chain as well. Bike ended up being ok.

Sometimes u can hydrolock them and it can be bad news...play it safe!

good luck!

Could he of actually kicked it hard enough to bend the rod? To me that just doesn't seem plausible. Did the 03's have a compression release?

jloria: what do you mean when you say hydrolock... does that mean the kicker will get stuck and feel like it is locked? If that is the case and then the kicker eventually gives in does that mean that water had it locked and I pushed water through my rings into my motor?

thanks