Sign in to follow this  

2001 KTM 380 Clutch Replace/Maintenance

Hey all, this is my first time posting here.

I have looked around a lot, to try to find a direct answer to my question, but cannot seem to find anything.

I ride a 2001 KTM 380 MXC, which is fairly stock except for the pipe, skid plate, pipe guard, seat, tank, etc...no real engine mods.

I've had the bike for about two years now, it runs great, even after all the beatings I put it through.

Recently, the clutch has gotten 'grabbier,' where it won't disengage fully, so I decided to pull apart the clutch on it, and look at the basket/plates.

The plates themselves look great, like they were replaced fairly recently, but the outer basket is grooved to hell. The inner hub looks alright, however.

This is my first time working on a clutch at all, and I am considering taking it into the shop to get it taken care of, but money is an issue, and I prefer to do all the work on my bike myself (I enjoy working on the bike).

I want to buy an aftermarket basket (eyeing Wiseco), but it seems nothing is offered for the 2001 KTM 380 other than stock baskets, which are pricey as hell as it is. So after a bit of poking around, it seems that KTM used the same clutch for all later models of the 250, and the 300, which Wiseco does offer baskets for. My assumption that they are the same models is based on the spec sheets which show the same diagrams, and same 72T baskets, 26/25T primary gears.

Here is my bike's Clutch diagram:

http://www.apexsportsinc.com/fiche_section_detail.asp?section=424574&category=Motorcycles&make=KTM&year=2001&fveh=9882

And an '11 KTM 250 SX:

http://www.apexsportsinc.com/fiche_section_detail.asp?section=1421609&category=Motorcycles&make=KTM&year=2011&fveh=39540

I am wondering if anyone knows or can verify (or point me to someone who can) whether I can order a clutch basket from Wiseco for a newer model 250/300 and expect them to be compatible with the 380 I have?