Sign in to follow this  

Some CR125 Q's

Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to the dirt scene (background is mainly street riding with a handful of trackdays), and am looking for feedack on a first dirt bike. I'm looking for cheap fun, which will be mostly trail riding and some hare scrambles. Generally, I'm more interested in seat time than being outright competitive if I do end up racing.

Anyway.... I'm trying to keep my budget in the $1000-1200 range, give or take a few hundred. So from what I've gathered, that puts me in the market for an older 2t. Hondas have always treated me well (and seem to be easy to get parts for), so i've looked mainly at CR125's so far (though not opposed to other brands). Looking at CR125's on craigslist, I see everything from 97's to '03's in my price range, depending on condition. So are there any major differences in that date range that make one model year more desirable than another? Any known issues (or model years) to look out for or avoid? Anything else I should consider?

Thanks in advance for the help,

Andrew

Well 97 was the last year of the steel frame (not sure if that is desirable to you or not) but they were known to have the strongest motors of any CR125 and they also had the 6 speed. I have owned both a 97 and an 02. I can day the 97 was faster because of the 6 speed and the powerband hit a lot harder. The 02 is still fast and the suspension is way better, the bike feels very tight compared to the 97 which felt big because of the suspension. I have not needed a 6th gear in my 02 because I do not do much top speed riding, mainly track and occasional trail. I got my 97 for $850, it needed a top end and plastics which pushed the total to about $1100 then tires which were another $160-190 can't remember. Just make sure whatever bike you buy, it does not need a lot of work. But I would go as new as possible. Good luck