Sign in to follow this  

Blue grove covered with sand!

Well, it is winter here in Alberta and I have been going over my video's from the past summer. I have noticed a lot of things that I need to work on. One thing I noticed was how much my front tire washes out on the track under certain conditions. Our track is run by volunteers and isn't groomed regularily. Often it goes from Mud to dry and concrete like in a week. We allow pee wee's to experts and dirt bikes and atv's as well. This basicly means that they don't groom the track very deep so the little bikes don't have so much struggle. It does mean that we often get blue grove with a slight sand over the top. So, my two questions. What do you guys run for a tire that works in this case and secondly, what technique do you use to prevent front tire wash out? I am a beginner/intermediate vet rider on a YZ 250. Thanks for the input.

The Bug

To turn in that situation you really have to position the corner of the seat up the crack of your ass. If it's on the faces of the jumps try shifting up one gear. It's easy to lose traction on a smoker with blue groove jumps.

• Like 1

well, i have been out a couple of times and have noticed that my tires are very comfortable only in a small range of track conditions. basically they only work well when there is some moisture,but not to much, but also start to loose again oce the conditions get drier. i have decided to switch up my tires to see if that gives better control over a wider terrain.

Now if my collarbone wasnt pined and in 5 pieces i could go test them.

thebug

Whats your suspension setup like and where do you ride on the bike(farther back, in the middle, to the front)? What type of tires are you running?