Sign in to follow this  

Getting Slower after coming back to riding

So, I started riding a year ago, after 10 years off. 10 years ago I was 20 years old and a decent middle of the pack A rider. To give you some history I started riding at 11 on a Honda Z50, then jumped to a KX80 that I raced until I was 15. I stopped riding at 15 (i was pretty damn fast on an 80) and didn't ride until I was 19. I bought my dad's KX250 from him and spent half a season in the B class before I got moved up to A, where I raced for a year, then stopped riding. When I got back on at 19 I never really had to try. I was just fast.

Fast forward to me being 30 years old and riding again. A year ago when I first got back on a bike, once the muscle memory came back, I was flying. My conditioning was lagging but the raw speed was still there. Over the course of the past year though, I have gotten SLOWER. My conditioning has returned as well as my strength but my raw speed has vanished. I find myself thinking about things as I ride that where always unconscious. "Look ahead, weight the outside peg, body position" everything. These things just happened before and were happening when I first started riding again, but now I have to think about them. Guys that I rode with when I first got back into it that I used to walk away from now blow my doors off.

Just curious if anyone has had this problem. I am going to take a month off to reset, then go out and avoid trying to work on things, just go out and try and "not think" and just focus on going fast. I know I have the speed, I know how fast I am. I am just super frustrated and it has gotten me to the point where riding isn't fun. I love to ride, but in order for me to have fun I have to feel good about my riding and be flying. I am not doing that right now. Any thoughts or help would be appreciated. I thank you all who took the time to read this long post.