Sign in to follow this  

03 KX144 Jetting Suggestions

Hello, I have a 03 KX144 from Forward Motion ported for bottom and mid. The bike runs okay right now with 420 main, 40 pilot, and 82 needle in the third position from the bottom (not sure if you normally count from top or bottom). I'm pretty new to jetting.

I use the bike from 3000-6000 ft in Socal. It also has stock pipe with Pro Circuit spark arrestor silencer. Right now I'm experiencing major spooge. It has not fouled a plug yet, but i imagine it isn't too far from it. I included a pic of the plug if it helps. That picture is after riding in Dove Springs probably 3000ft and up to the cabin probably around 6000ft. So, how do I stop the spooge and make the bike more leaner and more crisp?

P1010181.jpg

Its rich but looking at the pic its not to far off , have you done a flat out plug chop ? some big bore motors need leaning throughout the whole range as they tend to pull more fuel / air due to becoming a bigger pump but still sucking through the same hole (carb) to put it in simple terms

Start with the main and pilot then move to the needle you may need a leaner item if lowering it doesnt cure your woes

I just read this link... http://justkdx.dirtrider.net/printcarbtuning.html Long read but I learned a lot. I think I can handle it on my own now with their guide. I have not done a plug chop yet but the next time we go out to ride I will. How much leaner do you think I should buy the jets? Maybe buy 400, 410, 35, and 37.5?

Elevation isn't going to affect the jetting as much as temperature. Temps affect on jetting is many times greater, so what you should be thinking about is temp at the bottom vs temp at the top of your run. best just to go by every 15 degrees of temp change you need to go up or down 1 pilot and main size. and as it gets colder air becomes more dense, so you will need bigger jets, opposite for hotter.