Sign in to follow this  

why do i go through chain/sprockets so fast!?

i buy ranthel sprockets with D.I.D. x ring everytime. 13/53 tooth. i also have an 2008 crf450. i start breaking teeth off back sprocket within 5th ride almost everytime and its really starting to burn a hole in my pocket. i ride every weekend and im only a middle pack novice rider. it just seems like maybe im doing something wrong. i tighten chain almost every ride. i put 3 fingers on very end of slider on swingarm is how much tension i leave.

post a photo from the side showing the slack in your chain. Even if you didn't "lube" your chain with anything.. just put it on and rode 30-40 hours, you shouldn't be doing that. Need to check your wheel alignment too. find some flat bar stock that is 1/2 to 3/4 wide, place through the swingarm bolt and the axle.. measure both sides. They should be equal. Adjuster marks are pretty darn accurate but not always spot-on.

I ride 3x a WEEK for an hour at a crack in the woods, nothing but wd40 on my chains and i replace the chain at 60hrs or so. I change the front sprocket 1/2 way through usually as it wears 3x as fast as a rear. My rear sprockets are lasting a LONG time now days as im using $19 steel sprockets from RMATV.

i buy ranthel sprockets

You're putting sprockets that belong on nothing larger than a 125 on a 450. I've destroyed a renthal rear on my bike in less than 2 hours.

are you using steel sprockets? I find that the aluminum ones don't last on higher HP bikes like 250 2t's and 450's.

You must be riding nothing but SX with that set up?? I run nothing but renthal chain n sprockets and i'm getting between 20-25 hours of hard motoing on them, but that's a 13/48 gearing. :lol::thumbsup:

You must be riding nothing but SX with that set up?? I run nothing but renthal chain n sprockets and i'm getting between 20-25 hours of hard motoing on them, but that's a 13/48 gearing. :lol::thumbsup:

lol, There arent any MX tracks where he is from.