Sign in to follow this  

The 150 project

Hey guys:

The 300 and 340 kits are somewhat on hold at the moment. A little disappointing but it will be back on track shortly.

In the mean time, I decided to invest some more time into the yz125 150 package we sell.

Currently it's like a little extra flavor to our 144 package - and adds about 1.5 hp peak with good midrange improvments.

But with the new two stroke class at LL - and an itch I have to qualify/race the class on the 125 - I have decided to build the 150 as best/all out/factory style build as possible.

I mentioned a little earlier on it - but the basic package will be using a longer rod than stock, and a custom ignition box/map and cone pipe to achieve our power goals, which are about 45 to the wheel - shooting for 250 two stroke numbers haha. Obviously to the nitpickers - it's not a torquey, flat, smooth power like a 250 two stroke can be...

I have a few spare cylinders (some are junk) that I started playing with to see just how far a few areas could go and I then started playing heavily with my simulation software to see where it thought I might end up.

After a few tweaks with ignition and pipe, it looks really promising :lol:

HP150.jpg

The software pretty much sims a stock yz 125 right where it is (crank hp shown - expect 10-12 percent loss to the wheel min).

It's no joke to get that - and a lot of tricks are employed that go beyond the ports/window area etc...and the exhaust pipe is trick as heck.

Note: I didn't spend any time optimizing the ignition curve on either motor shown at lower rpms - the low end on both would look much different if I accurately modeled the PV and ignition, as well as pipe temps at lower rpm - but my whole intent was merely to see about what peak will look like...