Sign in to follow this  

What Do I Do Next?? Pics

Hey guys,

Bike's a 2000, yz250, 46mm open chamber forks.

I'm waiting for my Smart Performance del taco kit, this is my first time going past changing seal on a fork.

I have the tubes apart and the damper body (I believe that's what it's called, see pics) out of the bottom fork leg.

Now I'm stuck where to go next to get the rest of it apart. I had it revalved by a local tuner, so I expected to see some tool marks and be able to tell where to go next.

I've seen the threads about drilling the factory peens off, but I assumed that was closed chamber forks only.

The photos show where I'm at, if you could guide me what I need to do next, that would be appreciated.

Thanks all.

2011-12-03175836.jpg

2011-12-03175818.jpg

From the picture it looks like it has not been taken apart before. The top threads off. In order to do that you need to buy or make a tool. The MX-tech web site should have good info. on getting it apart. If you can't find it check back.

• Like 1

Here ya go.

Some drilling required and you need some shaft blocks to hold the tube.

http://mx-tech.com/downloads/2832125_valve_installation.doc

Thank you sir. After posting this I figured out I needed to drill those, but my standard HSS drill has to much of a point on it for me. Time to pick up an end mill.

I believe Dave J provides a pin for the end to pin it in a vise to unthread the cylinder valve after the peening is removed. Are the shaft blocks designed to do the same?

Knock the spring seat ring off the cylinder valve. Lay the cartridge on a flat surface and tap the area that is peened with a hammer. Roll & tap. With cartridge upside-down clamp across end of X shape on CV in vise. Insert rod through holes at BV end. Heat area around peened end. Unthread cartridge tube. You will need to work it loose/tight while alternating heat/spray lube.

• Like 1