Sign in to follow this  

2007 kx250f *New* *Need help!*

Okay I am new to TT and I just bought a 2007 kx250f it does not run and backfires really bad when trying to start. The guy I bought it from said he got it to start but it ran for about 10secs popping and back firing really bad. He said he cleaned the carb and it was no better. If anyone has any idea or questions please replay. :lol:

Thanks.

Sounds like an air leak.

Make sure the exhaust header pipe seals properly against the cylinder head. There is a copper crush gasket between them that might need tightening/replacement.

Check that the hotstart closes completely.

If that does not help, remove valve cover and check timing.

okay I will check the exahst and I have pulled the head off and I believe it is lined up TDC I think the value need to be shimmed? any advise? or responses

Thinking about it is not enough. You must measure the valve clearance with feeler gauges.

okay I will check the exahst and I have pulled the head off and I believe it is lined up TDC I think the value need to be shimmed? any advise? or responses

I think you mean the valve cover. If you removed the head you went too far. If you are looking at the cam timing as an issue you need to be 100% sure it is correct. I believe you need a repair manual to show proper pictures of this as I don't think the owners manual will show it.

To check the valve clearance you will need feeler gauges in the range of .001 to .010 thousands of an inch. Your problem is most likely the hot start or the valves. The hot start is a common problem with the carbed bikes. To check it: pull the lever, if it does not move at least a quarter inch toward the bars or moves toward the bars and does not return you found your problem. Fixing it is a bigger problem. Let us know if you need help.