Sign in to follow this  

Stock Header Pipes Collapsing - WHY? (PICS.)

This first picture shows my original stock header pipe that I used for about 3 and a half years. You would think with a pipe as deformed as that, a crash was to blame for it. I can assure everyone that this is not the case, and the sole reason that I seek some answers.

1-4.jpg

This next photo presents the evidence that I have two header pipes (both stock) and that I just didn't simply swap the cage out to hide a crash and stir up suspicion that I am making this all up. The new header pipe is present in the left side of the photo and will be present in the next two photos.

2-4.jpg

O.K. - with that out of the way, this next photo shows my new header pipe (stock also) that I have been using for about 4 months. Take particular notice of the header pipe section that I have enclosed in the red rectangular area. The header pipe is starting to collapse in on itself in much the same way as the original stock header pipe did in my first photo. That section of the header pipe was almost perfectly round 4 months ago, and now it is starting to deform. Sure it may take almost three years until it collapses almost completely flat like my first one did; but my question is: WHY IS THAT HAPPENING AND IS IT NORMAL?

3-4.jpg

This next photo shows that the header pipe even has that nice bluish-purple hue to it that I have read is an indication that the bike is jetted pretty close to where it needs to be in relation to running temperatures.

4-4.jpg

If the bike is running too hot, I would understand why it is doing that; but take into account that if it were, that first header pipe wouldn't have lasted as long as it did - which was 3 and a half years, plus the bike isn't overheating and runs impeccable. Should the header pipe be changed out before it reaches three years old? I figure that if one doesn't bang it up from a crash, why should it be replaced.....right???