Sign in to follow this  

Wheels!

My wheels are starting to look like mobius strips...

So as a holiday gift to myself, I'd like to get some new wheels for my 2010. The problem I am having is that there are just so many options to wade through, so I'd love to hear some opinions.

For complete wheel sets I have it kind of boiled down to:

(Make | Approx MSRP)

DNA | $500-580

Excel | $1300-1400

Factory Effex | $1200

ProWheel | $900-1000

Rad Mfg | $800-900

Warp9 | $765

And then there's always the option of just getting rims and spokes and lacing/truing it myself utilizing the stock hub, but I've never done it before and I am not sure of the pros/cons of this approach either. I am pretty sure I can use previous posts on the subject and walk myself through lacing & truing, but I would love some thoughts on if the stock hub and spoke pattern are worth sinking money into or if replacing them altogether would be worthwhile.

Again opinions & advice are appreciated. I am really looking for an economical solution, but at the same time I need something that won't fall apart or go out of round the first ride out. With that being said, at this point I am leaning towards Rad Mfg, esp since they currently have a holiday special and seem to have the most reasonable balance in reputation and value... In any case, thanks in advance!

check out *********.com great prices and service just bought set of wheels myself from them thru my dealership

Some great finds, thanks guys.

For the Talon wheel sets... in the past I have always run Talon hubs with Excel rims... Anyone have experience with the Talon T3 rims? A basic google search yielded limited opinions.

Only thing I hate about Talon is that I hate supporting those darned red coats. =þ

$1,400 for a set of wheels ?

Is there not better things you could buy ?

Them DNA and Warp9 seem a reasonable price to pay for wheels, 1400$ is crazy unless your racing high level don't you think ?

$1,400 for a set of wheels ?