Sign in to follow this  

Body positioning for tall riders

I dont consider myself an overlly tall person (just shy of 6') but I seem to have unproportionally long legs. I feel like when im standing in the air I cant grip the seat with my knees, since they are above the seat and I have a terrible posture. I will be racing beginner class next season so I'm still learning the ropes. Here are some pics showing my dilema.

An ugly posture:

jump2.png

Sometimes my posture doesnt look so bad, like this one:

jump1.png

Any tall riders out there who can give me some pointers for an improved posture in the air, any advice and/or pics would be greatly appreciated!

Im 6'4" i have extremely long everything...well, not everything...my hair is short. anyways...i felt like i had the same problem as you, i couldnt grip the seat with my knees. But you dont have to grip the seat, you can grip any part of the bike with your legs...for me its pretty much my shins...lol also...and this next one isnt gonna be as easy for you. but, i ride a 10' kawi for a reason. its a big bike..i spent my first year on an 08' yz250f. when i got my kawi it felt like a world of difference...i got back on the 08' and it felt like a pit bike to me.

• Like 1

Same situation here, I'm 6' 5" and I have trouble with jumps in that I'm not standing up enough since my legs are the longest part of me, I would agree though gripping with inside of the shins seems to work since the knees are above the seat.

I find I always feel quite when I ride but when I see pics or videos of my riding I'm not the biggest fan of the look of my jumping posture, I have found if you try to bend at the hips helps a bit but you seem pretty good in that you are over the front.

I'll focus more on gripping with the shins once the snow melts up here!

Yeah I heard Kawis were a bigger bike and suited tall people better, but I'm probably sticking with honda, something to think about in the future though!