TT500: advice on BigBore and Carburator

Hi all...

I have been a lurker on this forum for a year now, but registerd today. First off i want to thank you all for making my intro to the vintage MX allot easyer by posting on this forum.

First a little about myself: I am no mechanic, this is my first project, and I'm a noob (hint, don't expect much regarding technical terms, I will have to look them up and translate). Yes, i will use 3rd party mechanics if there is something i cannot do myself. I have also bought the Haynes manual.

Main use of the bike is road use, and maybe a vintage race and gravel roads now and then.

If anyone could please try to explain the compression ratios on big bore kits 90mm.

I know there is a 9:1 compression (if i understand this correctly it is the same as i have today on the standard bore size. There is also one 11:1 kit.

So here I go: What is the main difference between the 9:1 and 11:1 regards to effect, response, heavier to kick start etc?

Does anyone of these require anything else then boring the cylinder?

I think I did see something about a cylinder head gasket that I will have to replace; do I need to do anything to the cylinder head? etc?

Next thing is the carb. Before I put it in storage for the winter, I had an issue with my carb. I was at the gas station, filled it up, and then when I was going to start the bike, I noticed that it was pouring gas out of the overflow tube. The other thing I experience all the time is that it stops on idle, and i hate it when this happens when I stop on red light. I do think that the carb needs a rebuild or should i replace it with a 36mm carb (hint at big bore kit) ? If so, are there any recommendations on type that will fit?

Thanks in advance for all advices !

John