Sign in to follow this  

Which OIL FILTER TO USE???????????

This is a list of filters that fit the XR400. Of those, I've used the HiFlo, Wix, Tusk and Emgo. Most are about $3 a piece and very similar to one another. I order from Rocky Mountain, The TT Store or other online retailers and buy 6 at a time.

Fram CH6015

HiFlo HF112

Wix 24944

Purolator ML16815

Napa PS4944

Tusk TK112

Neutron 1245540002

Emgo 10-99200

K&N KN112

Baldwin P7132

I've been using the Tusk filter for a couple of years now. Fits my daughters 110 as well.

I have used the tusk one also. TrailRyder, thanks for that list and info, I imagine that of those 4 that you listed that you use they are all paper filters? What do you think about the reusable K&N filter? Kind of scary in my mind!

Edited by XL100allnightlong
mistake

I have used the tusk one also. TrailRyder, thanks for that list and info, I imagine that of those 4 that you listed that you use they are all paper filters? What do you think about the reusable K&N filter? Kind of scary in my mind!

Yes, they're the paper element type.

If the K&N is a screen filter, I don't see it filtering as well as a paper element. And then, it seems to me, you'd have to be thorough and careful in your cleaning of it so that you don't contaminate the output side of the filter with the filth from the input side.

The others are too cheap NOT to drop in a new filter during every oil change.

This is a list of filters that fit the XR400. Of those, I've used the HiFlo, Wix, Tusk and Emgo. Most are about $3 a piece and very similar to one another. I order from Rocky Mountain, The TT Store or other online retailers and buy 6 at a time.

Fram CH6015

HiFlo HF112

Wix 24944

Purolator ML16815

Napa PS4944

Tusk TK112

Neutron 1245540002

Emgo 10-99200

K&N KN112

Baldwin P7132

Thanks for the list. You really should gather up a bunch of these posts and make a FAQ II or add it a page to the FAQ.