Sign in to follow this  

Think twice about putting Fox Comp5 boots under the Christmas tree

I've been riding and racing dirt bike for over 20 yrs. Now I'm in my 35 have a lot more responsibility and maybe ride once a month. Well I purchased a whole new Fox outfit 2 yrs back. The gear held up as expected but my right boot has worn poorly. The kick starter has actually tore apart the bottom of the boot to the point where my last ride caused a baseball size bruise to the bottom of my foot. My friends ride twice as much as I do and the Gaerne and Alpinestar boots they run are in perfect shape beyond typical wear and tear. I contacted Fox and if it's beyond a year (warranty) they don't want to hear about it. My advice is if your riding a bike with any compression more then a mini stay away from these boots.. I can't figure how to upload pics. or I would show you gujys what I'm talking about.

My daughter crashed two weeks ago and somehow managed to break her big toe while wearing the Fox womens' Comp 5.

They feel great in the store because they flex so easily. They are a poor choice for any serious riding because they flex so easily.

they also are cheap you get what you pay for, comparing these boots to alpinestar and gaerne is like comparing a porch to a vw, come on. I have a pair and know they will last probally one season and a half.. My soles seperated after a year, for 150bucks I threw them away and got another brand new set and i stll come out cheaper them buying those other boots you mentioned.

• Like 1

wont take you long wasting 150 $ a year to be at astar prices

I have 6 years on my tech 7's and they show no sign of wearing out

• Like 1

Have been wearing mine for 2 years now, and they have held up great. For the price they are hard to beat. Perhaps I am just lucky.

Of course your friends who are wearing $400 boots have boots of higher quality than your $150 comp 5's. Did you expect them to compare? That just seems silly.