Sign in to follow this  

Things to look for/ask when looking at '09 CRF 250

Hi all --

I'm in the market for a new woods weapon (coming over from an older 250EXC) and am checking out a few Rs. I'm new to 4strokes but been around bikes for 20+ years.

Aside from general wear and riding the bike, what are some of the key things I should look for/ask when checking out this bike?

Thanks

How hard it has been ridin

How often the oil and air filter were changed

Any motor work done

when was the Last piston

Ask when is the last time the valves were adjusted. If he says they were just adjusted, walk away. Or prepare to do a valve job on your new bike.

ASK him bout rebuilds, parts, if he lies say about one single thing walk away. think if he liesabout a set of say rear wheel bearings. hes more then likely lying bout the motor. also ask what kind of valves are in it. ask him about wehat ype of fuel he ran where he rode, raced, hare scrambles? how many owners if he drives a crappy truck. should be a good chunk of priority then chances are he didnt havem oeny to take care of the crf we all know if you dont treat the crf nice it wont treat you nice.

Ask when is the last time the valves were adjusted. If he says they were just adjusted, walk away. Or prepare to do a valve job on your new bike.

I agree. Sold mine with just under 80hrs and they never once moved. Checked every ten hours from new. Clean air filters are key. Dirt = valve killer

If there's no hour meter on the bike, either he took it off to lie about the hours or didn't care enough to maintain it properly. If he says "changed the oil every ride"..You know it's total BS.

If the clutch cover has no paint left on it..The bike has no less than 50 hrs.

just bought 2 crf250r. here is what i checked:

crank bike cold. if want start cold probably needs valve job. -800

ride bike and check clutch feel to see if needs new one. -200

change gears...change smoothly? if not dont buy

take bike stand