Sign in to follow this  

2 stroke oil shelf life???

as the title does synthetic oil for premix has a shelf life in a seal container or then again while is open and sits on the shelf.....

have you notice a difference in performance or use, or do the manufucturers recomment a shelf life,

I have not had any issues. I have been buying it by the gallon for the last 2 years. (Blendzall) My Son goes through a gallon every 2 to 3 months and I have not had any adverse affects. If it sits for more than a year I would say shake it up and use it.

run it!!

Think about how old some of the injector oil is in outboard 2 stroke marine engines. Those engines are WAY more expensive than our dirtbike engines and they run just fine.

I have used premix that was at least 2-3 years old before, didnt think twice

I always thought it odd that sometimes when I open an old container of oil for a premix, usually for lawn machinery (my bike oils don't sit around very long), that there is a residue in the bottom of the container, like it has partially separated ...? I can't EVER remember seeing "SHAKE BEFORE USING" on a bottle of oil.

I have picked up a few used bikes and usually end up with that box of what-nots from the garage. Although there are few good surprises along the way, I too have noticed the bottom (seperation)? in 2 stroke pre mix oil. I promptly put it in my used oil container. Guess I was lucky to find this out early on, from a clear oil container.

Not sure how long it takes or what causes it.

I always thought it odd that sometimes when I open an old container of oil for a premix, usually for lawn machinery (my bike oils don't sit around very long), that there is a residue in the bottom of the container, like it has partially separated ...? I can't EVER remember seeing "SHAKE BEFORE USING" on a bottle of oil.