Sign in to follow this  

cheap freestyle bike

im looking at getting into freestyle, i weigh 77Kg, about 1.8m tall and 19 years old, ive been riding for about 5 years, current bike is a 09 TE 450, i mostly ride endure, but can do small whips, no hand landings, no footers and can get my feet to the bars, but have never been able to do a heal clicker on the 450. anyhow it cam up that i have an extra bit of money atm, and r having a good jump being built, so im after a small light cheap bike that i can thrash round on, and can get a bit more serous about freestyle on. so hears my question what is better for freestyle only: kx125 yz125, cr125 and maybe 125sx (but i havent really been able to find any of them in my price range)

I don't see many people doing freestyle on 125's 250f's... I would highly recommend a mx 250 2 stroke

I don't see many people doing freestyle on 125's 250f's... I would highly recommend a mx 250 2 stroke

yeh i would say the same... try to find a late 90's 250, any brand will do, and they havent changed the design of the 250's much since the 90's with the exceptio of the frame, go for a 98-03 cr, ive heard alot of good things about threm, or if you want something super-reliable go for a yz or an rm, they both have the most power in that class and they are really reliable. you can easilly find a late 90's 250 for under $1000 and that'll leave you some room to give it a new top end and maybe some mods. i personally would go for a crif you going to do freestyle on it because i think theyre the lightest and are a bit snappier than the others. but it all depends on the condition and how well the previous owner to care of it

nah 125 better to start you can get a little loose with the throttle and not kill yourself

I know what your saying but ive seen a lot of kids moving from 125s to 250s and when they are at the MX track all of a sudden they have a harder time on jumps, nose high, nose low, swapping out..