Sign in to follow this  

Husqvarna 450te 2008

Hi I'm new to this thread, I have always used this thread to find may info on other bikes I have. I bought a Husqvarna te 450. It runs very well it has 130 hours on it. The only problem im having is the only way i can start the engine is using the manual decompressor. This makes me think the Auto decompressor has some problem.

If i try to start it by foot, its literally impossible to turn the engine, it has too much compression and with the electric starter it hesitates to turn it barley one turn and wont start the engine. Like i said the only way i using the manual decompressor this way the electric starter rotated the engine and when i let go of the lever it turns on perfectly.

Id like to know how the auto decompressor system works since im planing on removing the cam and inspecting it, but first i would like to know what to look for.

Another thing with 130 hours on the engine, i would like to know how much hours do these engine last before they need to be rebuild. I use synthetic oil and change it regularly, What are the common things that need to be changed. I dont stress the engine alot I ride slow and in the mid engine speed. I know 2 strokes require a piston and ring replacement every 100 hours. What about on 4 strokes its my first one? Thanks

I'd check the valve clearence before anything else- if its off too far it will disable your ADC.

ALSO don't kick it without decompression- or you'll cause damage, luckily you have the manual decompression.