Sign in to follow this  

WR/YZ250F Custom Bike Build Engine Question

I was looking into new2012 KTM EXC 350f $9800

Then I went to the 2012 WR250f $6500 I have been riding for almost 34 years Just want to do some enduro style riding . I want a light bike with power. I was then looking at the GASGAS EC250 4t..they use the WR250f motor in there bike,still $8500.

My Question is will the WR250f engine fit into the YZ250f frame

I had Ideas of just building the bike I want...

I haven't bought a bike or frame I can buy any year frame and motor.. I know 03-06 are one style and wr aluminum frame 07-11 wr

Just wanted to find out if anyone has tried this?

I'm thinking if I just spent my 5k on a custom build I might be getting a bike I really want . I was going to get the new Wr then remove the Rims and tires for some aftermarket rims and alum hubs, then use the open cartridge forks, then upgrade the triple trees and add steering damper,FMF exht....etc I didnt want a complete bike laying next to me when I was done!

Basicly putting a WR250F Engine in a YZ250f bike looking for the 208 lbs dry weight.

Thanks RoscoeJ (John) :bonk: Let me hear what your thinking ..

Edited by RoscoeJ