Sign in to follow this  

Check out my spark plug! Pics inside.

Installed this NGK Br8eg 4 or 5 rides back. This bike is currently jetted exactly as to what my service manual calls for for these temps except the air screw is only 1 turn out when it needs to be @ 2, but I have had a bit of a surge the last couple rides, so I'm thinking I need to bump up my pilot 1 size richer for sure. The bike runs perfect other than the surge it gets sometimes, but it's not too terrible.

Anyway, this is not after a plug chop or anything but just how my plug looks in general. Tell me what yall think! This is my first time doing a plug reading. I promise I won't post them everytime lol but I'm hoping that light brown on the tip is the "mocha brown" everyone says it should be!

IMAG0538.jpg

looks almost perfect! maybe a tad lean...but leaner is meaner lol

How can you tell without looking down into the insulator base? IMO it's a very nice burn but if I was picking I would say the richer side of perfect. I would expect darker the further down, I only say this because Ive read that the insulator at the electrode can burn almost white but its at the base of the insulator it should be measured, BUT with all that said - Im too chicken to attempt that, I burn mine like the pic

Edited by gitenold

Oh man that is great news. I've been having a lean surge coming off the power and when idling and when I blip the throttle it will go away and then come back, but whenever I'm on the power it's like butter. I know my main jet is good and likely my power jet as their both set to factory specs, but my pilot I fear is a little lean because the air screw is telling me so, along with the surging.

I guess I just wanted to make sure it looked okay, but this was NOT a plug chop. This is just me throwing the plug in and going riding 4 or 5 times! I guess I can rest a little assured it's not dangerously lean by looking at the plug this way!