Sign in to follow this  

Basic valving/shim stack question...

Hello, I have read all 163 pages of Doggers revalve thread (crf450r forum sticky, great thread!), but I still have a few suspension questions that maybe someone could educate me on.

I have been riding for many years, but have always used the companies for revalves, sometimes happy, sometimes not so much. I can do basic fork servicing (seals, bushings, springs and oil), and I understand the basics of the shim stack valving, but I have never messed with shim stacks. Can someone explain these terms that I have seen used but don’t fully understand what they mean, where to use them, and what they do? Start with “float”, I see that .2mm seems to be the common number, but I don’t understand where it goes, how to adjust it, or how it affects the suspension action. The next term is “crossover”, I think it means when there is a larger diameter shim placed after a smaller diameter shim in an otherwise consistently tapered (larger to smaller diameter) stack. Again, I don’t know what effect this has on suspension action, or how one would know where and what to use (what larger diameter shim and how far down the stack), or even what you might be feeling in your suspension that would let you know you needed to do something like this. I also am not sure how one would know if it was the base stack or the mid stack that they should be adjusting (or both?). Like I said, I have always let (paid lots of $$$!!!) the suspension companies to do the shim stack work, and then I experiment with spring rates, oil volume, and clickers, but I would love to learn to experiment with valving to. I am currently riding and working with a 2007 RMZ450 with showa components.

Thanks to any responses, help or information. And a big thanks to Dogger for his help in his thread, and all those with the suspension knowledge and experience that are willing to help and educate the rest of us!