Sign in to follow this  

Gal with a xr400r

HI All,

I am new to Thumper Talk and dirt bikes also. I have a 1997 honda xr400 and love my bike. After a few spills i love that it's virtually unbreakable.:bonk: So far it is completely stock. But I am not without problems and hope to get some advice here.

It took me about 2 weeks to figure out a technique to start it. I have a crook knee so i have to stand beside my bike and stomp on the kick start to get it to start. Usually takes a couple of goes.

Ok here's for the problems. Firstly i am 5'9 and able to touch the ground tippy toed. I would like it to be a bit lower. i took my seat off the other day and put a thin pillow there instead and felt that the bike was much easier to corner with me lower to the ground. I think my sag is already adjusted out. the adjuster nut thing is already almost to the top?

I think I am too light for the spring. It doesn't bounce much at all. I weigh about 145 pounds. How can i tell if this is the case? Or is it just that i am a new rider in need of more experience.

Another issue i have is when i fall off my bike which has been a few times now....It is near impossible to lift the thing back up again. anyone else?

Anyhow thanks for reading. I look forward to someday confidently riding my xr and having many fun adventures on her in the future

cheers :smirk:

Kylie

Hello Kylie,

I have an 2002 XR400, my first 4stroke after a 20 year hiatus in bike riding.

If you want to lower the seat height try XR's only lowering link

http://www.xrsonly.com/dirt-bike-parts-1/honda-dirt-bike-parts/honda-xr-models/honda-xr400r/xrs-only-lower-lowering-link-honda-xr250r-96-up-xr400r

Also it would appear that the stock spring is too stiff for your weight, have a look at this link. http://www.4strokes.com/tech/honda/sprngrts.asp

Hope this helps

regards Andrew

Try this, well established technique,and for much heavier bikes. When the guys drop their bike in the BRC 2 or ERC they all use this method.